Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2020 shortlist

Six poets are on the Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2020 shortlist announced on March 30, 2020.

The Brunel International African Poetry Prize was founded by Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University London (and Booker Prize winner) Bernardine Evaristo to revitalise African poetry in 2012. The prize, worth 3,000 UK pounds to an unpublished African poet, has encouraged a new generation of poets since. Previous winners have been Warsan Shire in 2013, Liyou Libsekal in 2014, Safia Elhillo & Nick Makoha in 2015, Gbenga Adesina & Chekwube O. Danladi in 2016, Romeo Oriogun in 2017, Momtaza Mehri, Theresa Lola, and Hiwot Adilow in 2018, and Nadra Mabrouk and Jamila Osman in 2019.

The judges this year were poets and academics Karen McCarthy Woolf (Chair), Kayo Chingonyi, Billy Kahora, Momtaza Mehri and Koleka Putuma. The shortlist of six is;

  • Akosua Afiriyie-Hwedie – Zambia
  • Rabha Ashry – Egypt
  • Inua Ellans – Nigeria
  • Amanda Holiday – Sierra Leone
  • Nour Kamel – Egypt
  • Saradha Soobrayen – Mauritius

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 4, 2020.