Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2019 shortlist

Ten poets from across Africa feature on the Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2019 shortlist announced on March 25, 2019.

The Brunel International African Poetry Prize was founded in 2012 to revitalise African poetry. The prize planned to draw attention to poetry and to encourage a new generation of poets who might one day become an international presence.

Founded by British-Nigerian writer, Bernardine Evaristo, Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University London, the prize gives 3,000 UK pounds prize money to an unpublished African poet who submits ten poems. Previous winners have been Warsan Shire (Somalia) in 2013, Liyou Libsekal (Ethiopia) in 2014, Safia Elhillo (Sudan) & Nick Makoha (Uganda) in 2015, Gbenga Adesina & Chekwube O. Danladi (Nigeria) in 2016, Romeo Oriogun (Nigeria) in 2017, and Momtaza Mehri, Theresa Lola, and Hiwot Adilow in 2018.

This year the jury is chaired by Matthew Shenoda (Egypt), alongside Leila Chatti (Tunisia), and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers (South Africa). The shortlist is;

  • Afua Ansong (Ghana).
  • Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria).
  • Inua Ellams (Nigeria).
  • Eltinae (Nubian Sudan).
  • Omotara James (Nigeria).
  • Nadra Mabrouk (Egypt).
  • Selina Nwulu (Nigeria).
  • Emmanuel Oppong (Ghana).
  • Jamila Osman (Somalia).
  • Sherry Shenoda (Egypt).

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 30, 2019.

You can read more about the shortlistees here.