The Brittle Paper Persons of the Year 2020 Awards made a callout for your nominations on November 3, 2020.

In 2010, Brittle Paper was started by Nigerian-born US-based academic Ainehi Edoro-Glines as a new voice in an African literary space that was starting to show itself on the world stage.

In 2015, the platform set up the Brittle Paper African Literary Person of the Year awards to celebrate a literary personality who elevates African literary culture in outstanding ways. The winners of the award in previous years have been Nnedi Okorafor (2015), Petina Gappah (2016), Lola Shoneyin (2017), Bibi Bakare-Yusuf (2018), and Ellah Wakatama Allfrey (2019).

For 2020, the platform which is celebrating a decade will announce Person of the Year as usual but also add other categories. The categories for the 2020 Brittle Paper Persons of the Year Awards are:

  • Digital Literary Platform of the Year
  • Publishing House of the Year
  • Writer-Activist of the Year
  • Social Media Influencer of the Year
  • Academic of the Year

The organisation has invited nominations for individuals or platforms for the above categories. For information on how to nominate your favourites in the above categories please click here.