Brittle Paper Literary Awards 2017

The winners of the Brittle Paper Literary Awards 2017 have been announced.

The Brittle Paper Literary Awards was established in August to recognize the finest, original pieces of African writing published online and available to readers for free. It is an award that brings much-needed attention to African writing and literary culture in the digital/social media space.

Its five categories—Fiction ($200), Poetry ($200), Creative Nonfiction/Memoir ($200), Essays/Think Pieces ($200), and the Anniversary Award ($300) for writing published on Brittle Paper—reflect efforts to capture the range and variations of literary dialogue on the continent.

At the time of the announcement, five shortlists containing 48 pieces of writing were released. The selections were made based on quality, significance, and impact. In this, judges considered only works that are available online for free. These pieces were sourced from a wide range of websites, blogs, online journals, and digital projects. For the fiction, poetry, nonfiction and essays/think pieces categories, we considered works published between 1 January, 2016 and 31 July, 2017. For their anniversary award, given to the best piece published exclusively on Brittle Paper, their consideration was limited to between August 1, 2016 and July 31, 2017.

These are the five winners.

THE BRITTLE PAPER AWARD FOR ESSAYS/THINK PIECES ($200) – All Your Faves Are Problematic by Sisonke Msimang (South Africa)

THE BRITTLE PAPER AWARD FOR FICTION ($200) – Farang by Megan Ross (South Africa)

THE BRITTLE PAPER AWARD FOR POETRY ($200) – Credo to Leave by JK Anowe (Nigeria)

THE BRITTLE PAPER AWARD FOR CREATIVE NONFICTION ($200) – Fugee by Hawa Jande Golakai (Liberia)

THE BRITTLE PAPER ANNIVERSARY AWARD ($300) – We’re Queer, We’re Here by Chibuihe Obi

For more about this awards and the winners, please click here.

Brittle Paper Literary Awards. Brittle Paper Literary Awards 2017,