Poetavango Award for Short Fiction

The shortlist for the Poetavango Award for Short Fiction 2019 was announced in Maun, Botswana on December 16, 2019.

The Poetavango Award for Short Fiction is an annual literary contest organised and run by the Poetavango Collective in Maun, Botswana. The Prize focuses only on the short story form. It is part of the Maun International Arts Festival 2019 sponsored by, among others, The Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, and the U.S. Embassy Botswana. The contest hopes to support and encourage writers of any nationality living in Botswana, both emerging and established.

For the 2019/2020 contest, which is the fourth installment of the prize, there was a relatively small number of submissions in comparison to the previous years.  While the judges are working on determining this year’s winners, the shortlisted stories in no particular order are;

  • When a Woman Bends by Kearoma Mosata.
  • What He Doesn’t Know by Olorato Jessica Jackson.
  • Dawn Came Early to Gaborone by Wame Molefhe.
  • Gaborone Rangers by Nkululeko Diteko.
  • Sethunya’s Gabs City Dog Days by Benita Magopane.

The winners will be announced on or before December 28, 2019, a date on which they’ll also share the names and profiles of their esteemed international judges.