Awards Canada Fiction

Black writers shine at Writers’ Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize 2023

Ten Black writers were selected at the Writers’ Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize 2023 on January 24, 2023.

The Writers’ Trust of Canada McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is a Canadian literary award, presented annually by McClelland and Stewart and the Writers’ Trust of Canada for the best short story published by an emerging writer in a Canadian literary magazine. It was endowed by James A. Michener, who donated the Canadian royalty earnings from his 1988 novel Journey.

The 2023 edition of the prize had a jury of award-winning writers David Chariandy, Esi Edugyan, and Canisia Lubrin. They were selecting stories for the anthology of The Journey Prize Stories: Canada’s New Black Writers and those selected were;

  • Christina Cooke
  • A.Z. Farah
  • Zilla Jones
  • Sarah Kabamba
  • Terese Mason Pierre
  • Téa Mutonji
  • Lue Palmer
  • Jasmine Sealy
  • Dianah Smith
  • Iryn Tushabe

Each of the ten winners received a $1,000 award and their work will appear in the soon-to-be published anthology.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.