Bisi Adjapon and Zoë Beck are the guests at the James Murua Literary LiveStream on Wednesday, December 9, 2020, at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

This month, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better. Previous guests have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel; Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell; Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi and Annette Michael; as well as Nyana Kakoma and Mariela Nagle. The latter events were brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

This Wednesday, our final guests for 2020 will be Bisi Adjapon and Zoë Beck.

Bisi Adjapon

Bisi Adjapon
Bisi Adjapon

Bisi Adjapon is a poet and writer of the critically acclaimed novel, Of Women and Frogs, which made the Daily Trust’s Top 15 novels of 2018, and whose short story version was nominated for the Caine Prize. A former International Affairs Specialist, she won the US Foreign Service Civil Rights Award for Human Relations.

Zoë Beck

Zoë Beck. Photo/Anette Göttlicher
Zoë Beck. Photo/Anette Göttlicher

Zoë Beck is a German writer, publisher, translator, dialogue script author and dubbing director. Some of her novels are Wenn es dämmert, (2008), Das alte Kind (2010), Der frühe Tod (2011), Edvard (2012), Das zerbrochene Fenster (2012) Brixton Hill (2013), Schwarzblende (2015), Die Lieferantin (2017), Paradise City (2020). She has been given awards like the Friedrich-Glauser-Preis (2010), Goldene Auguste (2018), and award for her services to women’s crime literature, Wiesbadener Krimistipendium 2019.

The two will join me on the LiveStream at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. If you want to interact with them, you can join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.