Bisi Adjapon Virtually Yours

The featured book for the Goethe-Institut “Virtually Yours” series for February is Bisi Adjapon’s debut novel The Keeper of Secrets.  The event which happens on February 12, 2022, will kick off at 4 pm GMT, 5 pm WAT, 6 pm CAT, and 7 pm EAT.

Virtually Yours is a project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa curated by Zukiswa Wanner. It is an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. Some of those who have featured have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda, Ondjaki, Ishmael Beah, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Rémy Ngamije, and Nadifa Mohamed.

The featured guest for February is Bisi Adjapon’s The Keeper of Secrets. Accra-based Adjapon’s writing has featured in McSweeney’s Quarterly, Washington Times, Daily Graphic, and Chicken Bones. Her novel The Teller Of Secrets, published in Nigeria by Ouida Books, has the following blurb;

The Teller Of Secrets is a tale of self-discovery and feminist reawakening. A feisty Nigerian-Ghanaian girl growing up amid the political upheaval of the late 1960s postcolonial Ghana begins to question the hypocrisy of her patriarchal society, and the restrictions and unrealistic expectations placed on women.

Young Esi Agyekum is the unofficial “secret keeper” of her family, as tight-lipped about her father’s adultery as she is about her half-sisters’ sex lives. But after she is humiliated and punished for her own sexual exploration, Esi begins to question why women’s secrets and men’s secrets bear different consequences. It is the beginning of a journey of discovery that will lead her to unexpected places.

As she navigates her burgeoning womanhood, Esi tries to reconcile her own dreams with her family’s complicated past and troubled present, as well as society’s many double standards that limit her and other women. Against a fraught political climate, Esi fights to carve out her own identity, and learns to manifest her power in surprising and inspiring ways.

Register for this Virtual Gathering at the link below and stand the chance of winning a copy by clicking here. This month, the session will have translation in three languages of English, French, and Portuguese.