BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Awards

The finalists of the Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival’s Elizabeth Nunez Awards 2022 were made public on Sunday, August 21, 2022.

The Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival (BCLF) is a celebration of culture as expressed through the pen of the storyteller and the voice of the poet founded in 2019. It is designed to facilitate vibrant conversations about Caribbean identity via a series of readings of classic and contemporary stories, podcasts, and conversations.

One of the festival’s most popular features is the writing competitions geared towards unearthing and encouraging the distinctive voice and story of the Caribbean-descended writer and expanding the creative writing landscape of Caribbean literature. The two are the BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Caribbean-American Writers’ Prize and BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Award for Writers in the Caribbean. Patrice Grell Yursik and Akhim Alexis won the awards in 2021.

The longlists for the prize were announced on Friday, July 29 and Saturday, July 30 before the shortlists were revealed on August 16, 2022. The finalists were made public on the competition’s Instagram page on Sunday.

These are the writers who have made the cute for the shortlists in the two categories;

BCLF Short Fiction Story Contest 2022

Judges: Ayesha Gibson-Gill and Tanya Savage-Batson.


  • Alexia Tolas, The Fix (Bahamas)
  • Portia Subran, Please Take One (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Callie Browning, The Science of Garbage (Barbados)

BCLF Elizabeth Nunez Caribbean-American Writer’s Prize

Judges: D. Ulysse (Haiti) and Ifeona Fulani (Jamaica)


  • Jazz Sanchez, Cock Soup (Jamaica)
  • Amaris Castillo, El Don (Dominican Republic)
  • Yvika Pierre, Nadege goes Home (Haiti)

The winners will be announced at the Brooklyn Caribbean Literary Festival in September.