Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 longlist

Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 longlist announced in Kampala.

The longlist for the Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 was announced in Kampala, Uganda today, Tuesday, July 14, 2020.

The Babishai Haiku Prize organised by the Babishai Niwe Foundation, who also put together the Babishai Niwe Poetry Prize and the Babishai Niwe Poetry Festival, has been running since 2016. The first edition was jointly won by Blessmond Alebna Ayinbire (Ghana), Chibuihe-Light Obi (Nigeria), and Kwaku Feni Adow (Ghana). Kenyan writer Kariuki wa Nyamu won the prize in the following year.

After a brief hiatus, the 2020 iteration of the prize has returned and it is being judged by the 2017 winner Kariuki wa Nyamu. The longlist of ten haiku writers announced today come from five countries across the continent and are;

  • Ali Znaidi (Tunisia)
  • Andrew Herbert Omuna (Uganda)
  • Praise Osawaru (Nigeria)
  • Devis The Poet (Uganda)
  • Ahmad Holderness (Nigeria/United Kingdom)
  • Akello Charlotte (Uganda)
  • Justice Joseph Prah (Ghana)
  • Rose Wangari Kinyanjui (Kenya)
  • Adipo Sidang’ (Kenya)
  • Osho Tunde Matthew (Nigeria)

The shortlist and winner will be announced in due course.

Click here to read the haikus that were selected.

One Reply to “Babishai Haiku Prize 2020 longlist announced in Kampala.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.