Ayobami Adebayo and Lesley Nneka Arimah.

Ayobami Adebayo and Lesley Nneka Arimah join 82 other artists from all over the world as MacDowell Fellows 2018.

The MacDowell Colony is a US based arts organization that provides essential support for emerging and established artists by bringing together diverse, multidisciplinary talent to exchange ideas and pursue creative work. It was founded in 1907 by Marian MacDowell, pianist and wife of composer Edward MacDowell.

The colony offers retreats for artists and writers for up to eight weeks. The fellows live in individual cabins and have their meals brought to them, giving them uninterrupted time to work. Those who have been through the colony are quite well known to readers of world literature. James Baldwin worked on Giovanni’s Room there, Alice Walker worked on her first novel Meridian at MacDowell, and Jonathan Franzen completed The Corrections.

The MacDowell Colony has released a list of 84 artists who will receive summer fellowships at its estate in Peterborough, New Hampshire. The artists chosen from over 1,000 entries are architects, composers, filmmakers, interdisciplinary artists, theatre artists, visual artists, poets, nonfiction writers, and fiction writers.

The fiction writers are the focus of this blog and here is the full list;

Fiction Writers: Ayobami Adebayo, Lesley Arimah, Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Andrew Greer, Stephen Kuusisto, Magogodi Makhene, Marina Petrova, Jayne Anne Phillips, Nell Stevens, João Tordo, LaToya Watkins, David Weiden, Sophia Whiteley Yanow, Eley Williams, and Jung H Yun.

As you can see, Ayobami Adebayo and Lesley Nneka Arimah feature on this list. Ayobami will be making her first appearance at the MacDowell Colony while Arimah will be making her second appearance having been there for the first time in 2016.