Awards Nigeria

Awele Creative Trust unveils ACT AWARD 2016 longlist

Monica Arac de Nyeko
Monica Arac de Nyeko is judging

The Awele Creative Trust has unveiled its ACT AWARD 2016 longlist of thirteen writers. This is for entries made from September 1 – December 1, 2016.

Awele Creative Trust (ACT) is a non-profit trust formed in 2013 to provide a platform and enabling environment for creative young persons in Nigeria through literature and arts. Previous winners of the three year old prize include Caleb Adebayo (2014) and Nneoma Ike Njoku (2015).

This year the prize is being judged by three judges: Monica Arac de Nyeko, Toni Kan and Brian Chikwava.  Monica Arac de Nyeko is a Ugandan writer of short fiction, poetry, and essays. In 2007 she became the first Ugandan to win the Caine Prize for African Writing.

Brian Chikwava is a Zimbabwean writer and musician. He became the first Zimbabwean winner of the Caine Prize for African writing in 2014. Toni Kan is a Nigerian writer, editor, public relations senior management executive, and teacher with two novels Nights of a Creaking Bed (2008) and The Carnivorous City (2016).

The full list of writers in the running for the award this year which is worth N50 000 include;

  • Anthony Azekwoh – The Fall of the Gods
  • Kadiri Alex – Your American Experience
  • Arum Ogochukwu Samuel – On the Edge
  • Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke – Stations of the Cross
  • Okhuosami Fatima, S – One Man, Two Bodies
  • Edwin Ununuma – This is Not the Kind Of Thing you Shout
  • Edoziem Miracle Ifeanyi Alamma – The Woman Emancipationist
  • Aishat Abiri – Arese
  • Boni Ehimony – Zuweirah
  • Imade Iyamu – She Came to You after She Died
  • Gbolahan Badmus – A Day in a Life, A Life in a Day
  • Kemi Falodun – Waiting
  • DozIe Duru – All Hail Biafra
  • Omiya Yinka Simult – The Quicksand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.