Awele Creative Trust Award

The longlist for the Awele Creative Trust Award 2021 was announced on Monday, February 7, 2021.

Awele Creative Trust is a non-profit organisation created to provide an enabling environment and platform for creative young persons founded by Chika Unigwe. Its annual prize the Awele Creative Trust Award, valued at ₦50,000, rewards a short story of up to 5,000 words by a Nigerian writer aged between 16 and 26. Previous winners include Caleb Adebayo (2014), Nneoma Ike Njoku (2015), Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh (2016), Imade Iyamu (2017), and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene (2019), and Joshua Chizoma (2020).

  • Barricaded, Isidinma Nnamdi
  • A Flight For Freedom, Alonge Bosede Love
  • An Apologia for Daughters, Chideraa Ike-Akaenyi for
  • Let Every Space Become a Reminder, Okechi Okeke
  • Safety Pins Are Good Omens, Mustapha Enesi
  • Wahala for the Good Boy, Timi Sanni
  • Rusted Silver, Dorcas Akobundu
  • The Weight of Love, Chibuike Ogbonnaya
  • Daughters, By Our Hands, Ekemini Pius
  • What Kills A Curious Cat, Yaqub Abdullahi

The winner will be announced later in the year.