The shortlist for the Awele Creative Trust Award 2020 was announced on Monday, March 15, 2021.

Awele Creative Trust is a non-profit organisation created to provide an enabling environment and platform for creative young persons founded by Chika Unigwe. Its annual prize the Awele Creative Trust Award, valued at ₦50,000, rewards a short story of up to 5,000 words by a Nigerian writer aged between 16 and 26. Previous winners include Caleb Adebayo for 2014, Nneoma Ike Njoku for 2015, Caleb Somtochukwu Okereke and Anthony Ezekwoh for 2016, Imade Iyamu for 2017, and Bakporhe Ufuomaoghene for 2019.

The shortlist for the award has been revealed and in the running are;

  • Ephraim N Oji, Horror’s Many Sounds and Faces
  • Joshua Chizoma, Their Boy
  • Chibuike Ogbonnaya, A Shattered Woman
  • Praise Osawaru, Home as an Ocean Filled with Storms and Fear
  • Tezor Dedam, A Sacred Place

The winner of the award will be announced in April.