Artistic Encounters, the series founded by Zukiswa Wanner in 2017, returns with Mphuthumi Ntabeni and Malcolm Jiyane from Johannesburg, South Africa on June 15, 2021.

In 2017, South African author and publisher Zukiswa Wanner created the Artistic Encounters series hosted at the Goethe-Institut in Nairobi. In the series, two artists of different genres meet and create an art experience of their combined work then share it with the audience at the German Cultural Centre.

For three years, Nairobi audiences experienced shows by artists from Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, Botswana, Germany, South Africa, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Eritrea, and Sierra Leone. The events included Maimouna Jallow performing Lola Shoneyin’s The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives; Patricia Kihoro presenting Angela Makholwa’s The Blessed Girl; Hana Kefela with her adaptation of Pede Hollist’s So the Path Does Not Die, Ngartia with his interpretation of Olumide Popoola’s When We Speak of Nothing; Sitawa Namwalie and Shan Bartley doing Yewande Omotoso’s The Woman Next Door; and Abu Sense doing his rendition of Shadreck Chikoti’s Azotus The Kingdom. The series, which wrapped up with Tsitsi Dangarembga and Thandi Sebe, failed to return in 2020 because of a global pandemic.

There is good news for 2021 as the series returns with a one-off event at the Sophiatown Centre, 73 Toby St. Sophiatown, Johannesburg on Tuesday, June 15. It will feature pianist/trombonist Malcolm Jiyane Xorile who will play while Zukiswa Wanner reads excerpts from Mphuthumi Ntabeni’s newest novel The Wanderers. It is brought to you in partnership with Johannesburg Institute of Advanced Studies (JIAS) and the Trevor Huddleston Centre

To join the event tomorrow at 12:00 GMT/13:00 WAT/14:00 CAT/15:00 EAT, please send a request for a link to: https://forms.gle/jcuPXNuqEpPAgSiR7