Arab American Book Awards

Arab American Book Awards 2020 winners announced.

The winners of the Arab American Book Awards 2020 were announced on August 31, 2020.

The Arab American Book Awards, presented by the Arab American National Museum in the USA, honours books written by and about Arab Americans. Winners and honourable mentions are presented annually in the categories of Adult Non-Fiction (The Evelyn Shakir Non-Fiction Award), Adult Fiction Poetry (The George Ellenbogen Poetry Award) Children/Young Adult, Fiction or Non-Fiction. Previous winners of these awards include Safia Elhillo (2018), Laila Lalami and Matthew Shenoda (2015) as well as Khaled Mattawa (2011).

The winners of the awards were revealed on Monday and are;

  • Fiction: The Other Americans Laila Lalami (Pantheon)
  • The Evelyn Shakir Non-Fiction Award: When We Were Arabs: A Jewish Family’s Forgotten History Massoud Hayoun (The New Press), Between the Ottomans and the Entente: The First World War in the Syrian and Lebanese Diaspora, 1908-1925, Stacy D. Fahrenthold (Oxford University Press)
  • The George Ellenbogen Poetry Award: A Theory of Birds Zaina Alsous (University of Arkansas)
  • Children/Young Adult: I Was Their American Dream: A Graphic Memoir, Malaka Gharib [Author and Illustrator] (Clarkson Potter)

Read more analysis on this win at our friends at

One Reply to “Arab American Book Awards 2020 winners announced.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.