Angela Makholwa. Photo/Goethe-Institut / Julian Manjahi.

Angela Makholwa’s novel The Blessed Girl is on Comedy Women in Print Prize longlist announced today, April 20, 2020.

The Comedy Women in Print Prize is an award founded in 2019 to celebrate the funny women in the UK and Ireland. The longlist for 2020 has been announced and Marian Keyes, chair of judges in the published novel category, said: ‘I am absolutely delighted with our longlist. The range is glorious – everything from lighthearted commercial fiction to literary fiction – it’s a demonstration of all the different ways in which women can be funny in print. It was a pleasure and very exciting to read all ninety submissions, and this is a list that I’m very proud of.’

Those in the running for the award worth UK pounds 3,000 are;

  • Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams (Hachette UK / Trapeze).
  • Big Girl, Small Town by Michelle Gallen (John Murray Publishers)
  • Christmas Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella (Transworld Publishers / Bantam Press)
  • The Nursery by Asia Mackay (Bonnier Books UK/ Zaffre)
  • The Blessed Girl by Angela Makholwa (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary (Quercus)
  • So Lucky by Dawn O’Porter (HarperCollins UK)
  • Reasons to be Cheerful by Nina Stibbe (Penguin Random)
  • House Are We Nearly There Yet? by Lucy Vine (Orion)
  • In the Crypt with a Candlestick by Daisy Waugh (Little, Brown Book Group)
  • The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman (Headline Publishing Group)
  • Diary of a Confused Feminist by Kate Weston (Hachette Children’s Group)
  • Frankissstein by Jeanette Winterson (Jonathan Cape)
  • Miss Blaine’s Prefect and the Vampire Menace by Olga Wojtas (Saraband)

This longlist has one name familiar to those who follow the African literary scene in Angela Makholwa for her newest novel The Blessed One. Makholwa shared the exciting news on Social Media stating, “Exciting news! ‘The Blessed Girl’ has been longlisted for the UK based Comedy Women in Print Prize. So honoured to be selected along with such fabulous female writers!”

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London, UK on September 14, 2020.