Awards Ethiopia Fiction Ghana Kenya Nigeria

AKO Caine Prize for African Writing 2022 shortlist announced.

The shortlist for the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing 2022 has been announced today, June 8, 2022. It consists of Joshua Chizoma, Nana-Ama Danquah, Hannah Giorgis, Idza Luhumyo, and Billie McTernan.

The AKO Caine Prize for African Writing is awarded annually to an African writer published in English for a short story. The prize has recognised some of the most famous writers working today like Leila Aboulela, Helon Habila, Yvonne Adhiambo Owour, and many more. In recent times, winners of the prize have been Meron Hadero (2021), Irenosen Okojie (2020), Lesley Nneka Arimah (2019), Makena Onjerika (2018), Bushra al-Fadil (2017), Lidudumalingani Mqombothi (2016), Namwali Serpell (2015), Okwiri Oduor (2014), and Tope Folarin  (2013).

This year, the prize is judged by author, journalist, and academic Okey Ndibe who chairs the panel alongside Elisa Diallo, Letlhogonolo Mokgoroane, Angela Wachuka, and Àsìkò Okelarin. The shortlisted writers revealed have been today from the 349 entries from 27 African countries that were submitted.

Ndibe said: “The 2022 entries represented a staggering feast. It was a testament to the vibrancy, variety and splendour of creative talent among writers of African descent.”

The shortlisted stories for the 2022 AKO Caine Prize are:

  • Joshua Chizoma (Nigeria), Collector of Memories, published in Afritondo (2021) 
  • Nana-Ama Danquah (Ghana), When a Man Loves a Woman, published in Accra Noir (2021)
  • Hannah Giorgis (Ethiopia), A Double-Edged Inheritance, published in Addis Ababa Noir (2020)
  • Idza Luhumyo (Kenya), Five Years Next Sunday, published in Disruption (2021)
  • Billie McTernan (Ghana), The Labadi Sunshine Bar, published in Accra Noir (2021)

The winner who receives the £10,000 prize will be announced at a ceremony held at the V&A in London on Monday, July 18, 2022. Each shortlisted writer will also receive £500.

One reply on “AKO Caine Prize for African Writing 2022 shortlist announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.