Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun

Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun was declared the winner of the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2021 at a ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria on October 3, 2021.

The Quramo Writers’ Prize is awarded annually to an unpublished fiction manuscript by an unpublished author. The award was founded by Lagos, Nigeria-based Quramo Publishers to encourage and stimulate a new community of talented writers as well as provide an opportunity for otherwise unexposed talent to achieve publishing recognition. Previous winners have been Samuel Monye (2017), Michael Emmanuel (2018), Vivian Onyekachi Ibe (2019), and Kadiri Alex (2020).

The judging panel for 2021 was led by Jude Idada, an award-winning author, playwright, screenwriter, and filmmaker. The other judges were Lechi Eke, writer, editor, and convener of the Reading Café at the University of Lagos; and multiple-award-winning author, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim. This panel perused a longlist of ten manuscripts selected from a total of 351 entries, announced on September 5, before the shortlist was made public on September 22.

The announcement of the winner was made as one of the highlight events of the Quramo Festival of Words 2021 which ran in Lagos from October 1-3, 2021.  The winning story is Looking Glass Bullet by Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun who tweeted on the announcement, “Okayyyy! This confirms yesterday was not a dream, it really happened! It’s such an unbelievable honour to win such a prestigious award, thank you very much @Quramo_Limited!!!”

Oluwaseun receives a 1 million Naira cash award, and a development publishing deal for their manuscript with Quramo Publishers.