Afritondo Short Story Prize 2022 longlist announced.

The longlist for the Afritondo Short Story Prize 2022 has been announced today, January 31, 2022.

Afritondo, a platform that aims to connect with and tell the stories of African and black minority populations across the globe, is the founder of the Afritondo Short Story Prize. Previous winners have been Jarred Thompson and Desta Haile.

The judging panel for the award for 2022, announced on September 16, comprises Pemi Aguda, Masande Ntshanga, and Natasha Omokhodion-Banda. From the 367 submissions from 24 countries this panel selected 16 stories with the help of a team of readers.

Those in the running for the 2022 award are;

  • Sabah Carrim (Mauritius)
  • Bwanga Kapumpa (Zambia)
  • Okwubi Godwin Adah (Nigeria)
  • Alain Patrick Irere Hirwa (Rwanda)
  • Uvile Memory Samkelisiwe Ximba (South Africa)
  • Mazpa Ejikem (Nigeria)
  • Jocelyn Fryer (South Africa)
  • Efua Boadu (Ghana/UK)
  • Howard Meh-Buh (Cameroon)
  • Raheem Omeiza (Nigeria)
  • Victor Ola-Matthew (Nigeria)
  • Lynsey Chutel (South Africa)
  • Somtochukwu Ihezue (Nigeria)
  • Moses Musuku Abukutsa (Kenya)
  • Obinna Obioma (Nigeria)
  • Alex Kadiri (Nigeria)

The longlisted stories will be published in an anthology to be released later this year, and the judges will meet in the coming weeks to decide on a shortlist and a winner.