The longlist for the Afritondo Short Story Prize 2021 was announced on Wednesday, January 27, 2021.

Afritondo, a new platform that aims to connect with and tell the stories of African and black minority populations across the globe, is the founder of the Afritondo Short Story Prize. The first winner was South African writer Jarred Thompson.

The judging panel for the award for 2021 announced on September 30, 2020, comprises Edwige-Renée Dro, Kiprop Kimutai, and Maneo Mohale. The award announced a 16 story longlist for the competition from the 363 entries from 20 countries selected with the help of a team of readers yesterday.

Those in the running are;

  • Joshua Chizoma – Collector of memories (Nigeria)
  • Rémy Ngamije – The Hope, The Prayer, And The Anthem (or, The Fall So Far) (Namibia)
  • Athol Williams – Silly Nelson (South Africa)
  • Henry Mutua – Small mercies (Kenya)
  • Dennis Mugaa – The distance in between (Kenya)
  • Ken Lipenga Jr – Homeward (Malawi)
  • Deborah Vuha – Roses of skin and iron (Ghana)
  • Queen Nneoma Kanu – Tafetta (Nigeria)
  • Lyop Dalyop – Blackie (Nigeria)
  • Desta Haile – Ethio-Cubano (UK/Eritrea)
  • Faraaz Mahomed – Gracious (South Africa)
  • Chidera Nwume – Remember me (Nigeria)
  • Ngansop Roy – To the son of my friend (Cameroon/UAE)
  • Prosper Wilton Makara – A likeness in stone (Zimbabwe)
  • Charles Muhumuza – Brown eyes (Uganda)
  • Justin Clement – Human cities (Nigeria)

The judging panel will sit and select a shortlist next month before the winner is revealed later in the year.