African Writers Conference 2019

The shortlists for the African Writers Awards 2019 were unveiled today Monday, August 26, 2019.

The African Writers Conference brings together writers of African descent to a common platform on the advancement of the collective interests of African writers. The first edition of the African Writers Development Trust event was hosted in Abuja, Nigeria in 2018 and the second will be hosted this year in Nairobi, Kenya.

One of the most anticipated activities at the conference will be the announcement of the winners of the African Writers Awards 2019. They are judged by Nahida Esmail, Adah Bitiah Chembo, Kolabomi Adeko, and Sabah Carrim in the areas of children’s literature, poetry, and prose in flash fiction and short stories. The longlist for the awards were announced on July 30.

Those in the shortlists for the awards announced today are;

Children’s Literature – Judged by Nahida Esmail (Tanzania).

  • Albinism Is Not A Curse by Oroni Tendera (Kenya).
  • The Zappinator by Eme Ogbu (Nigeria).
  • Cultural Stereotypes by Kui Gitonga (Kenya).

Flash Fiction – Judged by Adah Bitiah Chembo (Zambia).

  • Breaking the Norm; Ungrateful Girl by Temani Nkalolang (Botswana).
  • Osu By Bliss Boma (Nigeria).
  • Bambi by Nkateko Priscilla Masinga (South Africa).

Poetry – Judged by Kolabomi Adeko (Nigeria).

  • Young Alone by Njoka Dickson (Kenya).
  • Pongwe’s Life by Andrea B Matambo (Zambia).
  • Where Do You Come From by Karimot Odebode (Nigeria).

Short Stories – Judged by Sabah Carrim (Mauritius).

  • A Lesson in Diffraction by Justin Clement (Nigeria).
  • Wild Things by Mazpa Ejikem (Nigeria).
  • Hiding by Priscillar Matara (Botswana).

The winners will be revealed at the African Writers Conference in Nairobi, Kenya on September 28.