African Speculative Society’s Nommo Awards 2020 announced.

Suyi Davies Okungbowa, Wole Talabi, Ada Nnadi, Chikodili Emelumadu, Morakinyo Araoye, Steven Akinyemi, and Ogim Ekpezu are the Nommo Awards 2020 winners announced at the Ake Festival today, October 15, 2020.

The African Speculative Society introduced The Nommo Awards to celebrate writing known in other markets as magical realism, Sci-Fi, horror, and graphic novels in 2016. They were won by Tade Thompson, Nnedi Okorafor, Tendai Huchu and Lesley Nneka Arimah in 2017; and Tade Thompson, Kwabena Ofei, Setor Fiadzigbey, Wole Talabi, and Tochi Onyebuchi in 2018. In 2019, the honours went to Akwaeke Emezi, Nerine Dorman, Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald, alongside Nnedi Okorafor and Leonardo Romero.

The 2020 edition of the awards started with the announcement of the longlisted writers in the categories of Best Speculative Novel, Best Speculative Novella by an African, Best Speculative Short Story by an African, and Best Graphic Novel/Comic by Africans announced on April 19. On May 15, the shortlists for the awards were revealed. The winners would be voted on by the roughly 200 published authors and artists who are members of the African Speculative Fiction Society.

The winners of the awards announced today at the Ake Festival are;

Ilube Nommo Award for Best Speculative Novel by an African

  • Suyi Davies Okungbowa, David Mogo, Godhunter (Abaddon)

2020 Nommo Award for Best Speculative Novella by an African

  • Wole Talabi, Incompleteness Theories (from single-author anthology Incomplete Solutions, Luna Press)

Nommo Award for Best Speculative Short Story by an African

  • Ada Nnadi, Tiny Bravery (Omenana)
  • Chikodili Emelumadu, Sin Eater (Omenana)

Nommo Award for Best Graphic Novel/Comic by Africans

  • Danfo by Morakinyo Araoye, and Steven Akinyemi (authors) Ogim Ekpezu (artist) (TAG Comics)

Watch the full ceremony below

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.