AfriCAN Author Awards 2019 winners

The AfriCAN Author Awards 2019 winners were announced in Johannesburg, South Africa on July 31, 2019.

AfriCAN Child Your Time Is Now was established by South African entrepreneur, author, and speaker Anthea Thyssen-Ambursley in 2017. One of the programs of the organisation is the AfriCAN Author Awards which are aimed at honouring and celebrating authors who write for children.

The awards this year, judged by founder Anthea Thyssen-Ambursley as well as Barbara Lawrence-Strydom, sought out the best books for children aged 8, 10 and 14 in a variety of categories. The ceremony at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg announced the best writers for 2019 in South Africa and they are;

  • Spiritual/Religion Category – Octavia Masipa, Architecture of Faith, Obedience & Restoration.
  • Inspirational/Family Empowerment – Linda Nxumalo, I saw God move.
  • Afrikaans Gedigte – Virginia Keppler,
  • Women/Inspirational Category – Melissa Jacobs, When you get to my age.
  • Religious Category – Sikhulile Mtsetfwa, From Wheelchair to High Heels.
  • Nonfiction Category – Kentse Badirwang, Kattey’s Arrow.
  • Education/Family Category – Ntimbwe Mpamba, Crushed yet not DIStroyed
  • African Narrative Category – Donald Molosi, Dear Upright African
  • Historical Category – Lincoln Cave, Eersterus A Historical exploration of its origin.
  • Inspirational Category – Mashudu Nemadzivhani, The Road to Damascus.
  • Wealth Empowerment Category – Busi Selesho, Money and Black People.
  • Sci-Fi Category – Ravin Premnath, Consequenced.