African and Black Literature events for June 2021

We give you a list of events from across the African and Black Literature world you can attend in April 2021.

Tuesday, June 1

 

Wednesday, June 2

 

Thursday, June 3

Event: Leading the Reading Revolution
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Facebook (Virtual)
Time: 8pm EAT
Language: English

The Storymoja National Read Aloud event will be happening later on the month. Leading up to it, this event will be hosted moderated by James Murua with Joan Mwachi-Amolo, Will Clurman, and Yusuf Ganyana.

Friday, June 4

 

Saturday, June 5

Event: Nadifa Mohamed moderated by Leila Aboulela
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Zoom (Virtual)
Time: 5-6pm BST
Language: English

Nadifa Mohamed will be in conversation about her new book The Fortune Men with the incredible Leila Aboulela. All our events have BSL interpretation. #MFest2021Book

Sunday, June 6

 

Monday, June 7

 

Tuesday, June 8

 

Wednesday, June 9

 

Thursday, June 10

Event: Columbia Global Centres: Nadifa Mohamed
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Zoom (Virtual)
Time: 6pm CAT
Language: English
Registration: Click here.

Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research (WISER) at the University of Witswatersrand is holding a book launch for Prof. Ato Quayson’s new book Tragedy and Postcolonial Literature. Quayson is a Professor of English at Stanford University, California. He has published many books on African literature. This book explores “tragedy and tragic philosophy from the Greeks through Shakespeare to the present day.”

Fellow professors of literature Jeanne-Marie Jackson (Johns Hopkins University) and Anki Mukherjee (Oxford University) will engage Quayson in discussion.

Event: Columbia Global Centres: Nadifa Mohamed
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Zoom (Virtual)
Time: 4pm EAT
Language: English
Registration: Click here.

 

Columbia Global Centres are pleased to invite you to their African Book Talk Series – a platform that features African authors literature.  On the 10th of June 2021, 4 PM NRB/9 AM NY, join Nadifa Mohamed and Hassan Ghedi Santur (moderator) for an exhilarating session.

Friday, June 11

 

Saturday, June 12

Event: Virtually Yours with Ondjaki
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Zoom
Time: 3-4pm CAT
Language: English
Register: Please click here.

Goethe-Institut’s Virtual Gatherings – with contemporary authors from Africa. Virtually Yours aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa. The series of online discussions held once a month from October have featured Niq Mhlongo, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Tendai Huchu, and Natasha Omokhodion-Kalulu Banda.

Featuring in June is Ondjaki from Angola whose novel, Good Morning Comrades explores the daily life of a 12-year-old boy and his friends at a time of when Angola is enduring a war.

Sunday, June 13

 

Monday, June 14

 

Tuesday, June 15

 

Wednesday, June 16

Event: The Black Pimpernel launches
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Exclusive Books Rosebank, Johannesburg
Time: 4pm CAT
Language: English
Details: On poster

Zukiswa Wanner’s The Black Pimpernel will launch at the Exclusive Books Rosebank on June 16 at 4pm. My discussant will be Sello Hatang. It’s happening way before curfew so RSVP timeously as we will be observing Covid protocol. Friends from Joburg View (Tshwane), you are also welcome. All details are on the poster.

Thursday, June 17

Event: Femi Kayode’s Light Seekers launches
Event Type: Book Launch
Venue: Book Den c/o Hosea Kutako Avenue & Puccini Street, Windhoek
Time: 4:30pm for 5pm CAT
Language: English
Details: On poster

The Book Den and Jonathan Ball Publishers cordially invite all lovers of fiction in Windhoek to the launch of Femi Kayode’s Lightseekers, a thrilling and gripping work of crime fiction.

Femi will be in conversation with Rémy, Doek!’s co-founder and editor-in-chief, talking about his glittering debut, crime-writing, and living a literary life.

RSVP: [email protected] / 061 239 976

Social distancing and sanitising protocols will be in place.

Friday, June 18

 

Saturday, June 19

 

Sunday, June 20

 

Monday, June 21

 

Tuesday, June 22

 

Wednesday, June 23

 

Thursday, June 24

 

Friday, June 25

 

Saturday, June 26

Event: PAWA literary series with Okey Ndibe and Ngugi Wa Thiong’o
Event Type: Author chat
Venue: Zoom (Virtual)
Time: 5pm GMT
Language: English
Details: On poster

The PAWA literary series with Okey Ndibe and Ngugi Wa Thiong’o is moderated by Wale Okediran

Monday, June 27

 

Tuesday, June 28

 

Wednesday, June 29

 

Thursday, June 30

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.