The finalists for the Nebula Awards 2020 were announced on Monday, March 15, 2021.

The Nebula Awards annually recognize the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States. The awards, first held in 1966, are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a non-profit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers. Some winners of the awards in the past have been Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, and Tomi Adeyemi.

The finalists for the recent edition have been announced and the African, African American writers in the running for the awards are;


  • The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  • The Midnight Bargain, C.L. Polk (Erewhon)


  • Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, Aurelia Leo)
  • Riot Baby, Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom Publishing)

The Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • Raybearer, Jordan Ifueko (Amulet)

The winners will be announced at the 56th Annual Nebula Awards® ceremony during the 2021 Nebula Conference Online, June 4–6, 2021.