Abuja Literary and Arts Festival 2020

Abuja Literary and Arts Festival 2020 starts today!

The Abuja Literary and Arts Festival 2020, with the theme “The Art of Empathy,” is set to run from August 13-15, 2020.

The Abuja Literary and Arts Festival 2020 happens on the webinar platform Hopin with events exploring important societal issues including tribalism, racism, homophobia, misogynoir & classism. They include panel discussions, book chats, writing competitions, an online art exhibition (with partners), film screenings, Poetry Readings, and many other activities.

Below is the festival schedule for the next three days.

Thursday, August 13

14:45 – 15:30 HRS WAT|15:45 – 16:30 HRS CAT| 16:45 – 17:30 HRS EAT

The Opening Ceremony with speeches and poetry.

15:45 – 16:45 HRS WAT| 16:45 – 17:45 HRS CAT| 17:45 – 18:45 HRS EAT

Panel: Creating in the Pandemic Panelists: Billy Kahora, Dike Chukwumerije and Dudu Busani-Dube | Moderator: Chimee Adioha.

17:00 – 18:00 HRS WAT|18:00 – 19:00 HRS CAT| 19:00 – 20:00 HRS EAT

Book Chat: Female Monarchs and Merchant Queens in Africa We’ll be talking to Prof. Nwando Achebe about her incredible new book | Moderator: Amina Alaoui Soulimani

18:15 – 19:15 HRS WAT | 19:15 – 20:15 HRS CAT | 20:15 – 21:15 HRS EAT

Panel:  Black Americans and Black Africans: The Role of Empathy Panellist: Prof Stephanie Shonekan | Moderator: Lorraine Sithole

19:30 – 08:30 HRS WAT| 20:30 – 21:30 PM CAT| 21:30 PM – 22:30 PM EAT

Panel: Can We Write Prejudice Out of Society? Panellists: Dike Chukwumerije, Jamil Khan and Karabo Kgoleng Moderator: Obi Nwaegbe

20:30 PM – 21:45 HRS WAT | 20:30 PM – 21:45 HRS CAT | 20:30 PM – 21:45 HRS EAT

Film Screening January 15, 1970: Untold Memories of the Nigeria – Biafra War

22:00 PM – 23:15 HRS WAT | 23:00 PM – 00:15 HRS CAT | 00:00 – 01:15 HRS EAT

Poetry Circle: Speakers Angie Thato, Raphael d’Abdon, Hassana Maina, Mapule Mohulatsi, and Athol Williams.

Friday, August 14

12:00 – 13:00 HRS WAT |13:00 – 14:00 HRS CAT | 14:00 – 15:00 HRS EAT

Panel: Writing Faction: Preserving African History Through Prose Panelists: Mpush Ntabeni and Tsitsi Dangaremgba Moderator: Kabura Zakama.

13:15 PM – 14:15 HRS WAT |14:15 PM – 15:15 HRS CAT |15:15 PM – 16:15 HRS EAT

Panel: Self-Publishing: Lessons and Politics Panelists: Dudu Busani-Dube, Oyinkan Braithwaite, and Zanele Dlamini | Moderator: Dike Chukwumerije.

14:30 – 15:30 HRS WAT |15:30 – 16:30 HRS CAT | 16:30 – 17:30 HRS EAT |

Panel: Writing in Mother Tongues: A Tool For Empathy Panelists: Amarachi Attamah, Eriata Oribhabor, Kola Tubosun and Sada Malumfashi | Moderator: Ayodele Olofintuade.

14:30 – 15:30 HRS WAT |15:30 – 16:30 HRS CAT | 16:30 – 17:30 HRS EAT |

Book Chat: Vagabond: Wandering Through Africa on Faith We’ll be talking to Lerato Mogoatlhe about her incredible book. Moderator: Teniola Tayo

15:45 – 16:45 HRS WAT | 16:45 – 17:45 HRS WAT | 17:45 – 18:45 HRS WAT |

Panel: Creating Sustainable and Successful African-Owned Creative Spaces Panellists: Ndubusi Nduwhite, Thomas Ngulube and Djibril Drame | Moderator: Tonderai Chinyidiko

15:45 – 16:45 HRS WAT | 16:45 – 17:45 HRS CAT | 17:45 – 18:45 HRS EAT |

Panel: Creative-Tech: Lucrative Livelihoods Through Digitizaton

17:00 – 18:00 HRS WAT | 18:00 – 19:00 HRS CAT | 19:00 – 20:00 HRS EAT |

Panel: The Changing Roles of Black Hair in History Panelists: Alisha Cowan and Lori Tharps | Moderator: Marita Golden

18:15 – 19:15 HRS WAT|19:15 – 20:15 HRS CAT|20:15 – 21:15 HRS CAT|

Panel: To Be Or Not To Be: Pride in Contemporary African Societies Panellists: Amara The Lesbian, Daniel Orubo and Pamela Adie | Moderator: Fumani Shongwe.

19:30 – 20:30 HRS WAT |20:30 – 21:30 HRS CAT |21:30 – 22:30 HRS EAT |

Panel: In Her Shoes: Understanding Sexual Abuse Panelists: Dorothy Njemanze and Yejide Kilanko Moderator: Ulonna Inyama

20:45 – 21:45 PM WAT |21:45 – 22:45 PM CAT |22:45 – 23:45 PM EAT |

Panel: The Evolution of Afro-Lit Festivals Panelists: Dr. Jama Musse Jama, Esther Mirembe and Kenza Sefrioui | Moderator: Teniola Tayo.

22:00 HRS – 12:00 AM WAT | 23:00 HRS – 01:00 AM CAT | 00:00 HRS – 02:00 AM EAT |

ALITFEST20 Poetry Grand Slam!

Saturday, April 15

10:00 – 11:00 HRS WAT | 11:00 – 12:00 HRS CAT | 12:00 – 13:00 HRS EAT |

Virtual Yoga with Bukunmi Olukitibi Interested? Follow Hearts Heartist (@hearts_heartist) on Instagram and send a message with #ALITFEST20GUEST to identify yourself. Enjoy!

10:45 – 11:45 HRS WAT | 11:45 – 12:45 HRS CAT | 12:45 – 13:45 HRS EAT |

Side Event: From the Author to the Reader: The Role of PR and Marketing Panelists: Alessandra Bassey and Akaninyene Bassey | Moderator: Ijeoma Ucheibe

12:00 – 13:00 HRS WAT |13:00 – 14:00 HRS CAT | 14:00 – 15:00 HRS EAT

Panel: Art in E-Spaces Panellists: Andrew Miller, Habibah Shehu Abana and Vuyolwethu Reoagile Moderator: Eketi Ette

12:00 – 13:00 HRS WAT |13:00 – 14:00 HRS CAT | 14:00 – 15:00 HRS EAT

Panel: Little Lit Children: Can Children Learn Empathy from Books? Panellists: Ayo Oyeku, Chimee Adioha and Dr. Modupe Adeyemo Oyetade | Moderator: Tolu Habib

13:15 PM – 14:15 HRS WAT |14:15 PM – 15:15 HRS CAT |15:15 PM – 16:15 HRS EAT

Panel: The Art of the Short Story Panellists: Chinelo Onwualu, Eugene Yakubu and Kiprop Kimutai | Moderator: Ukamaka Olisakwe

14:30 – 15:30 HRS WAT |15:30 – 16:30 HRS CAT | 16:30 – 17:30 HRS EAT |

Book Chat: Sacrament of Bodies We’ll be talking to Romeo Oriogun about his incredible book | Moderator: Tolu Daniel

15:45 – 16:45 HRS WAT | 16:45 – 17:45 HRS CAT | 17:45 – 18:45 HRS EAT |

Panel: Writing the New Normal Panelists: Chio Zoe, Innocent Chizaram Ilo and Masande Ntshanga | Moderator: Papakow Baiden

17:00 – 18:00 HRS WAT | 18:00 – 19:00 HRS CAT | 19:00 – 20:00 HRS EAT |

Panel: Mental Health: Can Art Help? Panelists: Hajo Isa, Rena Anakwe and Mohale Moshigo | Moderator: Chime Asonye

18:15 – 19:15 HRS WAT|19:15 – 20:15 HRS CAT|20:15 – 21:15 HRS EAT|

Panel: Writing in African Languages: Overcoming the Barriers of Diversity Panelists: Edwige Dro, Sabata Mpho-Mokae and Sawad Hussain | Moderator: Bisi Adjapon

19:30 – 20:30 HRS WAT |20:30 – 21:30 HRS CAT |21:30 – 22:30 HRS EAT |

Panel: Writing Political Non-fiction: Learning from Nigeria and Zimbabwe Panelists: Chido Onumah, Panashe Chigumadzi and Tonderayi Chinyidiko | Moderator: Tshepo Madlingozi

20:30 – 21:30 HRS WAT |21:30 – 22:30 HRS CAT |22:30 – 23:30 HRS EAT |

Keynote: Empathy: Does the Artist Always Have to Unite? Panellist: Helon Habila | Moderator: Odafe Atogun

22:00 – 23:00 HRS WAT |23:00 – 24:00 HRS CAT |24:00 – 02:00 HRS EAT |

Closing Ceremony

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.