Awards Childrens literature United Kingdom

Abimbola Salami, Diane Ewen win at UK’s Jericho Prize.

Abimbola Salami and Diane Ewen were declared winners of the Jericho Prize 2021 at a ceremony on January 27, 2022.

The Jericho Prize, open to unpublished Black British writers, is a new award for writing for children aged four years plus (picture books) and seven to nine (short chapter books). Each submission must include a Black or mixed-Black main character.

The longlists were announced on November 12 before the shortlists were revealed on January 2.  The winners of the awards in their categories are;

Jericho Prize picture book (4+) shortlist 2021

  • Diane Ewen

Jericho Prize short chapter book (7-9) shortlist 2021

  • Abimbola Salami

Check out the ceremony in the below video;

The winner in each category will receive £500, an editorial consultancy, and a design consultancy.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.