Callouts Nigeria

Narrative Landscape Press announces a new illustrator competition (Nigerian women only).

On August 8, 2019, Narrative Landscape Press announced an illustrator competition where the winner pockets N100,000. Narrative Landscape Press, founded by Eghosa Imasuen and Anwuli Ojogwu, is an independent publishing service and publishing-logistics firm in Lagos, Nigeria. Some of the writers who have been published by the company are Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Oyinkan Braithwaite, Olusegun […]

Anthologies Launches South Africa

“New Daughters of Africa” launches in Johannesburg, South Africa.

New Daughters of Africa, the seminal anthology edited by Margaret Busby, launched in Johannesburg, South Africa on August 4, 2019. New Daughters of Africa, edited by Margaret Busby, features the writing of over 200 women writers in Africa and its diaspora. It is a sequel to Daughters of Africa, also edited by Busby and published […]

Festivals South Africa

Cape Town’s Open Book Festival 2019 announces this year’s guests.

Cape Town’s Open Book Festival 2019, which happens from September 4-8 this year, announced its featured guests on August 1, 2019. The Open Book Festival, founded by Mervyn Sloman and Ben Williams, is an annual literary festival based in Cape Town, South Africa. It has hosted some of the most prominent writers in South Africa, […]

Fiction New Books Nigeria Speculative Fiction

Tade Thompson’s “The Rosewater Insurrection” came out on March 12.

Tade Thompson’s The Rosewater Insurrection, the second in the Wormwood Trilogy series, became available to the reading public on March 12, 2019. On July 17, 2019, Tade Thompson won the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 for his novel Rosewater. The novel was the first in the Wormwood Trilogy series by the UK-based Nigerian. It seems […]

Awards Cameroon Cote D'Ivoire Fiction Senegal

Cote D’Ivoire’s Prix Ivoire 2019 finalists announced.

The finalists for Prix Ivoire 2019, the leading literary prize from Cote D’Ivoire, were announced on August 9, 2019. The Prix Ivoire is an award created by Akwaba Culture, an Ivorian law association in 2008. Open to writers from Africa and its Diasporas, the winner gets a two million CFA francs (about 3,000 euros) cheque, […]