Awards Egypt Nigeria South Africa Zambia

Africans feature on UK Society of Authors’ Awards 2018 Shortlist.

Society of Authors’ Awards Shortlist 2018 features four African nationals. The four are Anietie Isong, Masande Ntshanga, Kayo Chingonyi, and Omar Robert Hamilton. The Society of Authors’ Awards is the UK’s biggest literary prize fund celebrating poetry, fiction and non-fiction. Previous winners of the awards are Nadifa Mohamed, Noviolet Bulawayo, Helen Oyeyemi, Zadie Smith, and […]

Awards Fiction Nigeria Speculative Fiction

Nnedi Okorafor’s “Lagune” wins Germany’s Kurd Laßwitz Preis 2017.

Nnedi Okorafor’s Lagune, a German translation of Lagoon¸ is a recipient of the Kurd Laßwitz Preis 2017. The prize is handed out annually to the best German science fiction works and translations. The Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis started in 1981, named after the science fiction author Kurd Laßwitz, is the best-known science fiction award from Germany. The foreign-language […]