Kalynn Bayron’s Young Adult novel “Cinderella is Dead” published on July 7.

Kalynn Bayron’s Young Adult novel “Cinderella is Dead” published on July 7.

Kalynn Bayron’s Young Adult offering Cinderella is Dead, from Bloomsbury YA, was published on July 7, 2020.

This blogger was first introduced to Kalynn Bayron when she was on a panel at the excellent Juneteenth Book Festival. The panel consisted of writers of Young Adult fiction recently or about to be published talking about their work, challenges, inspirations, and much more. Bayron spoke about her book Cinderella is Dead, a retelling of the Cinderella fairy tale that was to come out in July. Well July is here, ladies and gentlemen, and the book was officially published on Tuesday, July 7. The book blurb goes thus;

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of A Curse So Dark and Lonely.

It’s 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl’s display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.

Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella’s mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all–and in the process, they learn that there’s more to Cinderella’s story than they ever knew . . .

This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they’ve been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.

If you are a lover of Young Adult literature then I suggest that you get a hold of this book. Kalynn Bayron’s official webpage can be accessed here.

Watch Kalynn Bayron and other YA writers Tracy Deonn, L.L. McKinney, and Bethany C. Morrow talk about their work in the below video.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.